Rules of Procedure for LAMU at the Department of Biology

1. Delimitation of the Committee's tasks

The Committee is responsible for the overall coordination and planning of the working environment and Health at Natural Sciences, Department of Biology.

2. Number of Members and principles of composition

The Committee is composed of the elected employee representatives and the appointed management representatives. The head of Department or deputy Head of Institute is chair. The Chair of the Committee is the daily working environment manager appointed by the Chairperson. The head of department is appointed after negotiation with the relevant heads of section of the Chairperson, taking into account broad academic coverage in the Committee.

3. Meetings

The Committee meets as required, but at least four times per year. A meeting is also called if at least two members jointly present a reasoned request for this. The meetings are chaired by the Chairperson and in the absence of the Vice-Chair. Ordinary meetings are convened with the agenda as well as relevant appendices, which, as a general rule, are sent at least 14 days before the meeting. The Vice-Chair and the Chairperson draw up a draft agenda.

4. Content of the agenda

The agenda for ordinary meetings must contain the following fixed items:

- 1. Follow-up on ongoing cases
- 2. Status of working environment/safety in the individual working environment groups (round the table)
- 3. Occupational accidents and near misses since the last meeting
- 4. Working environment statistics
- 5. Supplementary working environment training/competence development plan has anyone attended a course or planned to attend a course (online)?
- 6. Possibly, input for the next LAMU meeting?

In addition, the following points must be addressed each quarter:

- 1st quarter: Follow-up on APV
- 2nd quarter: Status of first aid courses and how to react in case of fire, accident or life-threatening situation
 - 3rd quarter: Status of evacuation exercises
 - 4th quarter: Annual working environment discussion follow-up and preparation of a new one

5. Minutes and information

Department Secretary Louise Kruse Have, Department of Biology, is responsible for secretary function. The secretary prepares minutes, which is approved in advance by the Chairperson.

The minutes are sent electronically to the members no later than 14 days after the meeting, with a deadline for objection of one week. Any objections must be sent to the Secretary in writing. Once the deadline has passed, and no comments have been received, the Minutes have been approved.

Any objections will be discussed with the Chairperson, and the amended minutes will be distributed according to the same procedure. If the minutes are not approved by all members, the question will be discussed at the next meeting of the Committee.

Approved minutes of meetings are placed at the bio.staff.au.dk during work environment.

Approved by the Committee on 7 March 2024